Difficulties: part one

An honest attempt at summarising the problems faced by STSDs

I want to take a moment to discuss some of the problems that self-taught software developers (STSDs) face. Of course, the problems I discuss are very much my own and many of you STSDs will have your own difficulties that may mirror mine and may not.

Todays problem: Lack of clarity in what the end goal is

  • (a) What is the problem: a job? a career? enjoyment? What do you really want to do?
  • (b) Why is it a problem: it is probably impossible to accomplish something without knowing what it is you want to accomplish

  • (c) Towards a solution

    What is the problem

So I sat down the other day and thought about my situation. I realized that, while I might be highly educated, I am, in many ways, a difficult match for any career that I could locate. Sure, I could be a math instructor at some college or university, but when it comes down to it, that is about the extent of it.

So I asked myself what career options are there? Obviously, I could go about looking for the above instructor role but my feeling was this is not viable. That industry has become highly competitive as there are few job openings and the number of people looking for this kind of job out-number the available jobs.

That doesn't look feasible, what other alternatives are there? Well while looking at possibilities, I realized most of them were out of reach. I can't afford to go back to school and I don't have the money to pay for exams to be something like an actuary so I needed to find a career option that wouldn't require a large financial overlay.

Let's consider the resources I have available to me at this time. In "normal" times (without all of the covid restrictions etc), I could use the computing and human resources of my university but that isn't possible now and I am leading a very isolated existence. Nor is it possible to go out and meet in groups of people as most of those opportunities are shut down.

What I do have is a computer, excellent web service and time. With that in mind, I decided I would see how I could turn a computer into a career but what options are there with just a computer and wifi? An excellent question! I know there are a number of answers to this one could come up with: a novelist. a journalist, a blogger (something along those lines), maybe a data scientist (a real possibility but probably too difficult to do in my current situation) but the one that sounded most reasonable was programmer/software developer.

What is a software developer?

Yes, this is the issue! and, sadly, I don't have the answer today. What I think it is is a person who designs and creates software... Okay, but what does that mean? Well, a lot of uncertainty here.

Why is this a problem?

In one of my favorite Seinfeld episodes, Jerry is trying in vain to get a car he reserved. When he attempts to explain the purpose of a reservation, the counter lady responds "I know what a reservation is" Jerry replies: "I don't think you do. You know how to make a reservation but you don't know how to hold the reservation and the holding is the most important part!"

In a similar fashion, I know how to make a goal: use a mental note or write it on paper but I am uncertain on how to accomplish a goal, and accomplishing is the most important part!

To accomplish a goal, I think one of the most important steps you need to take is understanding what it is that you wish to accomplish. By software developer, what do you mean? What would it mean to accomplish it?

I will attempt to answer some of these questions next week.