On my experiences with Open-Source

I think the best way to describe my experiences with open source is in its infancy. Python is based on open source ware and I use that all the time but I am still struggling to figure out how to get involved in it.

At the Hashnode Bootcamp III, Samson Goddy spoke of his experience contributing to open-source and it gave me the idea that I would start looking at some of the repositories on Github and dig into the code there. I would like to understand how that software is put together and trying to replicate the code is one such way to do it. Finding the right repositories is crucial: I want to look at projects that I am interested in.

My own github site %[github.com/brian-ketelboeter/brian-ketelboe..

is in need of much improvement. Annie (day five Hashnode Bootcamp speaker) mentioned the importance of good github maintenance to a back-end developer, and I definitely now believe that back-end is me! Feel free to make suggestions on improving my github!

I also must admit to struggling to find an open-source project that I can actually help. I have read some of the material on working on open source, but I am still at a loss. I have tried to find something that has issues that I can make progress on but they all seem beyond me. Probably anything I could actually do would be completed by skilled developers in no time and it would make little sense for them to leave it hanging.

And I have looked at the `good first issues' page. There again, I struggle to locate anything that I can actually do. I suspect I need to sit down with this and really try to parse it all together. I want to make contributions to projects but am struggling to find the right projects to actually work on.

Thanks for the time!