A project begins....

Today I uploaded my 'daily planner' program to my Github account. It is the first of a series of programs I am in the process of developing which, hopefully, will include an 'event notifier', 'to-do list creator', and a 'daily list evaluator' to determine how successful your plan was. This I am calling my 'Productivity Suite' and I also intend on creating a 'cover page' and a banner for the products.

Screenshot from 2021-04-21 12-16-17.png

The daily planner is coded in python and is a basic tkinter app. Currently, it is very simple but has really forced me to learn a lot about tkinter along with 'class' in python. It seems that to actually start to understand the ideas that make any programming language what it is, you need to go and build software: you can read about it and make small programs but until you really start working with it and building something, you can't really appreciate what makes programming what it is.

I know in the pursuit of this project, I realized I would need a GUI to properly interact with a user and, after doing a little reading on the various options available in python, I choose tkinter.

So I started building the basic idea I had in mind, adding the buttons, etc. As I went along, I noticed a lot of tkinter related posts using 'class' and I began to grow interested in why this was so.

While I have programmed in python for about a year, I never felt much need for the 'class' idea: probably any experienced pythonier would laugh at such a statement, but the programs I wrote never seemed to need the concept so I never used it. If I can create the code without the use of such a thing, why use it?

I am not really capable at the moment of giving an explanation for the use of 'class' but I will say that one reason I found to use it is that it allows a program to instantiate many different objects from one basic 'recipe' (the apple pie from recipe analogy is a good one).

Please see my Github at %[github.com/brian-ketelboeter]

and the code for the daily planner in: %[github.com/brian-ketelboeter/Productivity_S.. or email me at:

Thank you kindly, Brian